Built in the 1750's to protect Marylands western frontier from muarading Indians during the French and Indian war.After which it was abandoned.
It was reactivated used by the americans as a POW camp for British and Hession troops in the revolution. it was again abondoned.
In the Civil war its ruins were reoccupied by Federal troops who engaged in one small skirmish Christmas day 1861 with Confederates. The only time there was any action at the fort. After the war it was sold to a free black man who used it to hold livestock,enclose an orchard and other mundane uses.
In the 1930's maryland bought it back and the CCC restored it.
This is the front wall, nearly 10 feet high !